Queensland Speedcars


Team owners drivers and crew, we have a social media policy in place that we all should be adhering to. Yes accidents and crashes happen in our sport and yes sooner or later everyone is going to be involved in something.
As a club we don’t need more negativity and it will not be tolerated. The driver is responsible for the actions of his crew.
Anyone saying negative comments towards a member of the club will be addressed and penalties will be issued for repeat offenders.
This is the only warning you will get and in future social media policy breaches will result in a penalty to the person and the driver there associated with.
Let’s keep the personal and negative behavior to ourselves and off social media. It’s not needed and does nothing good for anyone involved.


Troy Ware too good for the field in round 2 of the Polar Ice Series.

But it certainly wasn’t an easy win with Adam Clarke coming home strong to finish in a very tight second place and Darren Vine back in the familiar family number 19 crossing the line in third.
Big thanks to our sponsors, the teams and crew for coming and the guys helping make it all run smoothly.
Polar Ice
Bob Baker
Picture courtesy of Matthew Paul Photography check him out for any action shots you may want from the event!


This weekend race fans the Polar Ice Midget Series return’s to the home of speedway ….. Archerfield Speedway !!

Adam Clarke leads a great looking field and hoping to go back to back feature winner in R2 in the Inglis Chev Spike 29Q.

Current A1 in the Compact rankings Tim Farrell making his 18/19 first appearance in the 51Q Eagle as well as current Polar Ice Champion Scotty Farmer , Anthony Chaffey has nominated in the Lindsay Brown 6V Aggressor, Scott Doyle rolls out a new ride with the 89A from Neilson Motorsport as does Troy Ware in his new Bullet Chassis 71Q.

Chris Singleton makes a return from a season off in his Esslinger Spike 26Q , Gavin McDowell returns also after a little time off and then we have Kiwi “Gasman” Ricky McGough making his first appearance in the 46Q Aggressor for Dylan Byrne

Nominations are as follows

3Q Mitchell Rooke
6V Anthony Chaffey
19Q Darren Vine
20Q Michael Harders
22Q Scott Farmer
26Q Chris Singleton
29Q Adam Clarke
36Q Callum Whatmore JNR
45Q Tom Clauss
46Q Ricky McGough
51Q Tim Farrell
71Q Troy Ware
81Q Brad Dawson
89A Scott Doyle
89Q Rusty Whittaker
95Q Gavin McDowell



Four times Australian Speedcar Champion Adam Clarke led from the green to the chequered to win the opening round of the 2018 – 19 Polar Ice Midget Series at the Ausdeck Archerfield Speedway on Saturday September 22.

It was the maiden appearance for Jack Berry’s new Spike/Inglis Hawk and Clarke came away with the big prize.  Despite a smaller than expected field there was plenty of spirited racing for the minor places.  Darren Vine, in the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Cool/Esslinger, held second from the outset but was under siege from last seasons ‘Rookie of the Year’ Mitchell Rooke (Rod Singleton Racing Spike/Esslinger) until Vine pulled away leaving Rooke to deal with Rusty Whittaker (Cricks Boss/Esslinger) and Cal Whatmore (Speedy Air Conditioning Spike/Gaerte Buick).

Whittaker worked his way into third during lap 11 but two laps later was out of the race with a suspected crank trigger issue.  Rooke and Whatmore also had problems with untimely spins that ruined their chances of a top three finish.  Brad Dawson (GSA Advanced Machining Spike/Eagle) had been watching with interest as the raced unfolded and when the others fell by the wayside he was in the right place at the right time and held off the fast finishing southerner D J Raw (Spike/Esslinger) to secure his first podium finish.

Clarke set the pace in the Timed Hot Laps and with a time of 14.709 was ‘Quicktime’ for the night.  Clarke was handed $ 100 for his efforts with Ricki Harrison (Nupave Asphalt Services) and Dylan Byrne (Nexgen Transport) sponsoring the ‘Quicktime Award’ for every round of the Polar Ice Series.


Darren Vine dominated the heats driving the Boettcher Cool which he describes as ‘a pleasure to drive’.  Vine’s normal car wasn’t ready for the meeting and he slotted into the Australian built chassis without any problems.

Rusty Whittaker, in the Neilson Motorsport Boss/Esslinger, started the night full of determination to give some exposure to the team’s new sponsor motor dealer Cricks of Nambour, however things didn’t go to plan.  In the first heat he was up amongst the leaders when the battery failed which sent him to the infield.  In the second heat he finished second but was relegated to fourth for a restart infringement.  Things looked better in the A Main when he worked his way from the third row into third place only to finish his night on the infield.  There is little doubt that the former state champion is very talented and will run at the front of the field during the 18 – 19 season.

One new driver fronted on the night, Tom Clauss.  The surname will be familiar to those who have been around speedway for a couple of decades as he is the son of former F500 standout, Peter Clauss.  Tom purchased the former Rodney Harders Eagle/Eagle during the off-season and after a couple of practice nights the ex moto-crosser was ready to get amongst the four-wheel action.  Unfortunately, a niggling ignition problem during the heats slowed his progress but he managed to get in some valuable seat time during the feature.

The next outing for the Brisbane midgets is Round 2 of the Polar Ice Series at Archerfield on Saturday October 27 with many more drivers already indicating they will be ready to go for that night.

A couple of dates to keep in mind for 2019 are the Stan Burrow Stampede at Archerfield on Friday January 4 and the Queensland Championship at the Lismore Speedway on Saturday January 19.  The Stan Burrow night will be a HUGE night of great speedway action as it is also the qualifying night for the Australian Sprintcar Open which will include American sensation Donny Schatz.

To hold a Queensland Championship at a track in New South Wales sounds unusual but, in fact, it isn’t as a couple of speedway sections have held their Queensland Title at the picturesque showground venue.  With the close-proximity of Lismore to Brisbane it is regarded as a ‘local’ track by Brisbane drivers.  Its size and shape make it conducive to close and exciting speedcar racing.

Hot Laps

Adam Clarke – 14.709

Rusty Whittaker – 14.873

Darren Vine – 14.886

Heat 1

1          Darren Vine                 2          Brad Dawson              3          Cal Whatmore

Heat 2

1          Darren Vine                 2          Mitchell Rooke            3          Cal Whatmore


1          Adam Clarke (NSW)   2          Darren Vine                 3          Brad Dawson

4          D J Raw (NSW)          5          Mitchell Rooke            6          Tom Clauss



CONFIRMED !! The 2018/19 Stan Burrow Stampede will be on the 4th of January 2019

Thanks to Lerlene Burrow and Brian Spann putting $2,000 into this show so not only will the John Kelly and the Archerfield Promotion pay the Polar Ice Midget Series prize purse but its now topped up by 2K this will be another awesome tribute to the legend Stan Burrow.

This is still a Polar Ice round so the controlled tyre rule is in place.


John Dean and Dave Lander have locked in the 2018/19 Queensland Title heading just over the border into Lismore Saturday the 19th of January !!

A deal struck will see the prestigious blue ribbon event held over one night in the tight little bull ring of Lismore.

Put it on the calendar race fans we are off to Lismore !!