Multi-times Australian Compact Champion Darren Vine became the first local driver to win the Brisbane 50 lapper when he led home fellow Queenslanders Brock Dean and Rusty Whittaker at the Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway on Saturday May 13.

At 3:00 pm the meeting was in doubt after a heavy shower hit the area but once the rain passed the meeting progressed on a very hooky track.

Rusty Whittaker (Ti Bolts & Pace Partz King/Esslinger) was top qualifier from the heats and drew ‘10’ in the marble draw which meant he would start mid pack. He nominated 16-year-old Kaidon Brown (NSW) to start beside him while Nathan Smee (NSW) and Brendan Palmer would be the row in front of them.

Young guns Scott Farmer and Reid Mackay had the responsibility of leading the field to the start.

From the outset, Farmer (Spike/Esslinger) sped into the lead with Darren Vine (Mike Vine Turbos Spike/Esslinger) and Scott Doyle (Boss Hogg’s Steakhouse Beast/Gaerte) advancing quickly from the second row ahead of Mackay (Direct Plasterboard Outlet CP3/Gaerte).

Farmer kept collecting a $100 bonus for each lap that he led with Vine a couple of car lengths back.

Farmer was soon into lapped traffic with the Speedcar rookie able to maintain his advantage over Vine while further back Doyle, Dean, Smee, Brown and Whittaker were dicing in close company.

A major upset was looking on the cards as the laps ticked away with Farmer comfortably holding onto the lead however, as it is in racing, things quickly change and when Farmer had a minor touch with a lapped car it was enough to cause him to spin to a stop.

With 24 laps, still to go the field was lined up nose to tail with Vine now head of line in front of Dean (ACERS Engine Reconditioners Breka/Hawk), Mackay, Smee (Illuminated Industries Spike/Inglis Chev), Brown (TFH Aggressor/Hawk) and Whittaker (Ti Bolts & Pace Partz King/Esslinger).

Both Chris Gwilliam (Boss Chassis Australia Boss/Esslinger) and Brendan Palmer (EastLink Air Breka/Esslinger) soon departed the race with deflating tyres by lap 30 things had changed with Whittaker getting ahead of Smee and Brown and then that trio jumped around Mackay.

Dean was trying his best to get to Vine while Whittaker kept closing on Dean as the laps began to run out with a spun car slowing proceedings with 2 laps left but Vine was undaunted and drove a faultless race to collect the win ahead of Brock Dean and Rusty Whittaker.

The Brisbane 50 lapper has been run nine times and it is the first occasion that a home driver had won the event and the first time it had been a Queensland 1,2,3 result.

Three-time winner Nathan Smee was fourth ahead of young Kaidon Brown while Farmer charged back through the field to be sixth.

The Draw and Invert heats were run on a very fast track with Rusty Whittaker and Scott Doyle wining in the opening round in almost identical times just over one second outside the race record.

With so much grip available many of the cars were doing wheel-stands and this would bring about Sydney driver Dan Biner’s downfall in heat 3.

His car stood up on its back wheels as he crossed the finish line at the end of the first lap and when the car settled his front wheel contacted with Reid Mackay’s rear wheel sending Biner’s car (Syndicate Racing Boss/Esslinger) high in the air and several heavy rolls. Biner was sore from the heavy impact but walked back to the pits unassisted.

On the restart, Rodney Harders (Tamex Transport Eagle/Inglis Eagle) led the way until Farmer swept past on lap 7 and then Darren Vine came from row 4 to grab second near the end.

Troy Ware, driving Geoff Harper’s Aggressor/Stanton SR 11, took out the last heat in the fastest time of the night 2:17.293 just over half a second outside Michael Pickens’ 10 lap record of 2:16.720.

Last year’s winner Hayden Williams (NZ) was a late withdrawal due to work commitments with car owner Jason Bell jumping behind the wheel. Mark George took over of the 21Q Stealth/Porsche after regular driver Mitch Haynes called in sick.

Congratulations to Darren Vine and his team on a great win. Their prize-money and lap bonus money amounted to a substantial amount. Commiserations to Scott Farmer who will learn from the experience as he heads off to America on Wednesday for a drive in a 360 Wingless Sprintcar in California next week-end.

It’s a quick trip and he will be back in Brisbane in time for our next and last show of the season on May 27 for the final round of the 2016-17 Polar Ice Series. Rusty Whittaker currently heads the points just in front of Brock Dean and Troy Ware so the last night is vital to all three to decide the outcome.

Syndicate Racing, Jamie Hall and Dan Biner, from Sydney have been frequent visitors to Brisbane and other interstate tracks during the current season are extending their travels to overseas they have arranged a car to contest the USAC Midget Week and will take turns behind the wheel. It’s a pleasure trip with some racing thrown in. We wish them a safe and enjoyable time in the land of Stars and Stripes.

Young Kaidon Brown (NSW) continues to impress and for someone so young shows a lot of maturity in his driving.

He is cool as a cucumber before a race and doesn’t appear to suffer from nerves. He leaves that to his father, Mark Brown, who is obviously aware of the dangers of the sport and is very nervous before his son buckles in for a race. It is very important that young drivers such as Kaidon Brown are encouraged to continue in Speedcar racing as they are the future of the sport.

Heat 1
1 Rusty Whittaker 2 Nathan Smee (NSW) 3 Kaidon Brown (NSW)
Heat 2
1 Scott Doyle 2 Darren Vine 3 Brock Dean
Heat 3
1 Scott Farmer 2 Darren Vine 3 Rusty Whittaker
Heat 4
1 Troy Ware 2 Brock Dean 3 Kaidon Brown (NSW)

50 Lapper

1 Darren Vine 2 Brock Dean 3 Rusty Whittaker
4 Nathan Smee (NSW) 5 Kaidon Brown (NSW) 6 Scott Farmer 7 Troy Ware 8 Reid Mackay 9 Rodney Harders
10 Scott Doyle 11Jason Bell 12 Mark George

1 American Tire and Racing Services

2 Ti Bolts and Race Partz

3 Nexgen Transport

4 Nexgen Transport

5 Tamex Transport

6 In Memory of Shane Sollitt

7 Shock Absorber Therapy

8 Mudd Mafia

9 DTR Mechanical

10 BOSS Hoggs Steakhouse

11 Rondalee Metal Fabrications

12 JG Aircon and Electrical

13 Torque Wear Australia

14 BOSS Chassis Australia

15 Sunshine Coast Reinforcing

16 Inglis Race Engines

17 James Hardie Australia

18 DSI Road Profiling

19 Mike Vine Turbos

20 Western Landscape Supplies

21 Kelly’s Winfield Team Racing

22 Inksane Tattoos

23 J & B Pest Control

24 Federal Tires

25 Ridgetrans Sand and Gravel

26 Syndicate Communications NSW

27 Rondalee Metal Fabrications

28 BHR Fabrications

29 Polar Ice

30 Bob Baker

31 TFH Temporary Fence Hire

32 Singleton Racing #3

33 I Custom Colours

34 Highline Fabrication

35 Craig Thompson Machining

36 DSI Road Profiling

37 Mobile Injector Services

38 Nu Pave

39 Bryan Clauson Celebration of Life

40 Ash Media Speedway Footage

41 Eastlink Air

42 Sprint Shack

43 Queensland Speedcar Racing Association

44 Speedcar Super Series

45 In appreciation of Barry Lane

46 Quillerat Racing Team #46

47 Priddey Trucking Company

48 Federal Tires

49 Pimpama Landscape Supplies

50 Sidtech

#brisbanebig50 #qld50lapper #13may2017


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.