Northsider Brock Dean won pretty much everything except the 50/50 raffle on Thursday night at the Ausdeck Group Archerfield Speedway Boxing Night picking up the GSA Fastman Award, A heat race win, The Speedy Air-conditioning Hard Charger Award AND the ATRS/Danny Davidson Memorial A Main event in the DTR Mechanical/A.C.E.R.S 99Q King Hawk.

Dean bagging a GSA “Quicktime” of 13.959 just edging out Rusty Whittaker in the BOSS Chassis Steelmart/RAW Metal Corp 89Q at a 13.997 and Cal Whatmore JNR rounded out the trio of QuickTimers in the Speedy Air-conditioning/Prolube 36Q Spike Gaerte with his 14.192

Darren Vine seemed to battle the track conditions in the time trial session however come heat race time the MVT team had the 6Q King Valiant dialled in and like a rocket taking the first heat in style from P4 ahead of Brad Dawson in the GSA Advanced Machining/United Waste Services Spike 81Q and Audie Malt running the SSS Car Clinic 5Q Spike Gaerte, Glenn Wright romped home in fourth with his DRE/APC Breka Esslinger ahead of the very lucky Rusty Whittaker who had the save of the night tipping the BOSS Chassis Steelmart Racer up on two wheels at full race pace in turn one however gathering back up and able to continue the distance as Chris Singleton in the Nexgen Hire Aggressor rounded out the field it was Mitchell Rooke who recorded the best fuel economic race with no laps completed in the 34Q Spike with a gremlin that would end up haunting the RJR Kitchens team all night.

Ashley Booker in his 50V BOSS Chassis/Mopar came to grips with the very drivey Archerfield surface quickly leading heat two from go to woe ahead of the Porsche Breka 16Q of Matt O’Neill and the SBR 77Q of young gun Bodie Smith while “Mr Quicktime” Brock Dean had to settle for 4th ahead of the Inksane Tattoo 18Q Breka Esslinger with Nathan Mathers at the handlebars while Cal Whatmore Jnr crossed the line in 6th and the final car on the lead lap, Rookie Kody Stothard had overcome what appeared to be a battery concern in the hot laps with his 14Q Pro Powder coating King Mopar only to fall agonisingly short of the ten lapper distance recording nine laps of the ten.

Darren Vine completed his double in heat three taking the win from Whittaker and Smith also having a great run thus far into the programme Ashley Booker came home in fourth from Dawson Whatmore JNR and Scott Doyle made it seven starters and seven finishers in the Boss Hoggs Steakhouse Beast Gaerte 80Q.

Brock Dean took out the final heat of the night however it was Chris Singleton who clocked the fastest speed in this event at 97.800 kph in the Dylan Byrne owned Nexgen Hire Aggressor Eagle, Wright was second and followed Dean to the flag from Matt O’Neill, Singleton, Mathers, Malt and Stothard and Mitchell Rooke recorded a second DNS.

Sixteen cars were now allocated grids however with the cars of Stothard out with a rear axle concern from a meeting with the wall and Reid Mackay unfortunately have a fuel delivery problem that plagued the 76Q RTM Concreting CP3 Hawk car all night we had 14 starters meet the green flag.


A pair of Kings filled the front row as Brock Dean emerged highest points scorer after the heats and slotted into P1 while Vine filled P2, Whittaker and Smith were row two P3 and 4 respectively, Glenn Wright and Whatmore JNR were next on the grid from P5 and 6 for Whatmore, Mathers and Booker were back on row five ahead of Dawson and Malt while Doyle and Rooke round out the race.

As the field took the green Dean bolted with Whittaker and Vine in hot pursuit as one lap was ticked off and the field still pretty much bunched up jostling for track supremacy Vine spun the 6Q King mid turns one and two bringing on the yellows and the first restart of the 25 lapper, as the field got underway again the battle at the front was now between the three cars of Smith, Whittaker and at time Dean who was shuffled back to as far back as fourth however Whittaker and Dean were on a charge rounding out the 77Q Whittaker took to the high line as Dean was running the lower line each having strengths and weakness at different parts of the circuit.

Whatmore JNR and Singleton were beginning to make head way through the field as Mitchell Rooke decided he was done and headed infield with two laps down, Ashley Booker was next to depart infield with a deflated and torn left rear while the field got underway again this time there would be no more yellows the battle was on with Whittaker and Dean where coming into the later stages of the race Dean saw his chance to grab the lead as Whittaker came up on a slower racer going a lap down and lost that fraction of momentum Dean struck coming off turn four taking the field home leading the last three revolutions.

Brock Dean took the victory from Whittaker and Smith, Whatmore JNR, Vine, Singleton, O’Neill, Mathers, Doyle, Dawson, Wright and Malt.

The Bob Baker Challenge didn’t go off with just the 14 starters however had we had the 16 the “sweet 16” racer Matt O’Neill would have been the lucky recipient of the $500 cash the boys were also in the “lucky 7th” spot at the black and white however a double whammy of bad luck not having American Racers on all four corners means they miss out on the $100 voucher!

Notable mentions for Bodie Smith driving a very cool and calculated race to make his first podium in the 77Q SBR Spike and Reid MacKay with his return to the dirt after a bit of time out of the seat ….. I’m sure the boys will have the fuelling issue fixed for the next show and we will all be able to appreciate how hard he can race.

Our next show will be round 5 in the ATRS Archerfield Midget series on January the 10th so see you all trackside then !









Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.