NSW Speedcar Title History

 On Saturday, February 27, 2021 at Nowra Speedway the 78th running of the NSW Speedcar Title will be held.

The race winner is awarded The Neville Donnelly Championship Shield.

The race did not run from 1942-1945 due to the Second World War, it was rained out in 2015 and not held in 2020 when COVID-19 struck.

What started off as a four-lap race billed as the NSW Championship for Speedcars at the former Sydney Sportsground during the 1937-38 season, has evolved into one of the longest running Midget events in the world.

Taking into account the event had to take four years off while the Second World War was on provides a clear indication of just how far back this race runs.

The state title sure does have some interesting statistics courtesy of the incredible list of winners since 1937.

Lance Burgess won the first ever title and since then a veritable ‘who’s who’ of speedway, raced for the title glory including Australia’s late, great former three times World Formula One Champion Sir Jack Brabham (AO, OBE), who took out the NSW Speedcar Championship – way back in 1948 at the Sydney Showground.

 Cop this for a legend list:

In addition to Jack Brabham, Ray Revell, Frank (Satan) Brewer, Johnny Harvey, Barry Pinchbeck, Len Brock, Johnny Peers, Andy McGavin, Werner Greve (Germany), Peter Cunneen, Bryan Cunneen, Bryan Myers, Lew Marshall, Hank Butcher (USA), George Tatnell, Johnny Stewart, Ron Mackay, Barry Butterworth (NZ), Danny Davidson (QLD), Michael Meyer, Terry King, Bob Woods, Steven Graham, Robbie Farr is among the great names who have won this event.

 Other American state title winners, apart from Brewer and Butcher, include Cory Kruseman, Tony Elliott, Lealand McSpadden and Larry Rice.

In 1990 the NSW Speedcar Championship was held as a “mini series” at two different tracks – the Newcastle Motordrome and Sydney’s Parramatta City Raceway (Valvoline Raceway).

 It got down to a two man battle between ultimate winner Terry King and former champion Aaron Benny, the latter a three times NSW title winner.

The final was one of the all-time great races as the two diced it out for the win.

 Barry Pinchbeck won this event an incredible six times with an amazing five consecutive victories between 1977 and 1981, Adam Clarke equaled Pinchbeck’s record with wins in 2000, 2001 (twice that year for the hat-trick), 2006, 2013 and 2018!

 The history continues for on Saturday Night at Nowra Speedway, who will win???


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.