Brock Dean in his Aliweld/DTR Mechanical King Hawk 8Q parked the brand-new Justin Insley Chassis car in victory lane on Saturday night after an action-packed round 8 in the Polar Ice Midget Series at Archerfield.

Dean held off a late race charge from the nights Quicktimer Rusty Whittaker and Cal Whatmore Jnr who joined Brock on the podium after the shortened feature event.
It was on from the get go on what was a super heavy track both Nathan Mathers and Audie Malt finding the turn three wall hard ending what turned out to be a hot lap session as the field was reverted to a draw and invert format.

Darren Vine and Brad Dawson became entangled leading up to record lap one in the first heat which resulted in both cars freight training into the wall on the back straight, Vine coming of worse for wear and taking a ride on the tilt tray as Dawson was able to continue Lachy Paulger and the first of our NSW visitors had a quick meeting mid turn one and two which put both the 26N and 37Q cars out as the field resumed at a frantic pace with just three laps done the 89Q car of Whittaker headed infield with an electrical gremlin and Tim Farrell went on to take the victory over Charlie Brown and Whatmore JNR ahead of Scotty Doyle in 4th Brad Dawson and Audie Malt as Nick McDowell crossed in 7th.

Brock Dean set the fastest speed in heat two with a 103.679 kph as he went on to take the win ahead of the other NSW visiting King Chassis car of Dan Biner in the 62 machine Glenn Wright crossed in 3rd ahead of Riki Harrison in the Nupave King 67Q WITH Mitchell Rooke and Tom Clauss rounding out the field, Gavin McDowell, Jason McDowell, Nathan Mathers and Chris Singleton all recording DNF’s at various stages of the race

Heat two was also the departure of the evening for “The Captain” Chris Singleton after brushing the right rear of the 18Q Mathers car this sent the 26Q Spike hard into the turn three wall and as a result Singo’s night was done.

The first on the 89er boys to take a heat win on the night was Scotty Doyle in the 89A BOSS Chassis Australia car in a text book race ahead of heat two winner Brock Dean, Cal Whatmore JNR, Tim Farrell, Dan Biner, Riki Harrison and Nathan Mathers finished in 7th as Lachy Paulger retired after 4 laps of the circuit.

The nights final heat saw the other 89er in the brigade and that was Rusty Whittaker take the win however only just as the field were counting down the laps the car seemed to develop the same problem that plagued the car in the first heat however hanging on for the win and the points the guys sorted it once and for all for the feature event Mitchell Rooke came home in 2nd ahead of Vine, Brown, Dawson, Clauss and Jamie Hall all on the lead lap and Nick McDowell went one down and Glenn Wright recorded zero laps run.

Brock Dean lead the field away in the Aliweld 8Q being chased hard by Doyle and Farrell in the early stages Mitchell Rooke appeared high to the fence coming off turn two on the opening lap dropping a few spots and the cars of Brown , Vine and Whittaker were on the move early after 2 laps Wright and Harrison were jostling for real estate as Harrison banged the wall off turn four the 37Q of Paulger tank slapped the Eagle off turn 2 and parked it facing the wrong way bringing on the first yellow , Dean lead the field to the green on the restart Whittaker and Vine were now on a serious charge to the pointy end while Doyle and Farrell continued their battle Whatmore

By now Dawson and Brown were also having their own ding dong battle at times most running three wide at pace , Dean continued to set sail with 13 laps to run he had a comfortable lead as the rest of the field were racing hard and fast, Riki Harrison brought on the next yellow bouncing the 67Q high in turn four coming to a stop and again it was Brock Dean faultless in leading the field away from Farrell Whatmore JNR Doyle and Whittaker.

Just one lap later Charlie Brown was seen on the tail of the field after a spin in turn one another restart and this time Vine and Farrell we duking it out for track placings as Clauss and Hall brought on yet another yellow it was just one lap later Farrell and Vine came together in turn four as Farrell gingerly tipped the 51Q on its side Vine and Doyle were parked on track avoiding the United Waste car which resulted in them taking up the seats at the back of the bus for the run home.

Dean continued to lead however Whittaker was now barking at the heals of the 8Q along with Whatmore and Dawson in 4th as the laps counted down Wright had a meeting with Rooke trying to execute an inside pass for 5th in turn three which would ultimately see the 46Q upside down and the 3Q with extensive exhaust damage the race was declared on a time basis as Dean took the 8Q to victory lane followed by Whittaker and Whatmore JNR.

Notable mentions from the night was the hard lick into the turn three wall by Singo and we all hope he’s back on track very soon, Scotty Doyle finding form late in the season with crew chief Bernie Clarke and The Syndicate boys for making the trek north with the immaculate King Chassis cars

Our next outing for racing will be back at Archerfield on the 9th of March with most guys looking to compete in the UCS round in both Sydney on the 23rd and Toowoomba on the 2nd.
We will be having a club meeting at the Vintage Speedcar Club Rooms on Tuesday the 19th of February and all are welcome to attend from 7pm sharp.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.